Skip to content

Steve Jobs or Coach Eric Taylor

October 11, 2011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Having just finished this weekend the tremendous Friday Night Lights as well as reflecting on the death of Steve Jobs this article by Rod Dreher was poigniant, I encourage you to read the whole thing.

Here’s a few excerpts to encourage you to read it all:

“’Reconcile yourself to the limits of your talent and temperament and find the most satisfactory compromise between what you love to do and what you need to do feed your children’” is rather less stirring, but it’s much better advice.”

“The real message of ‘Friday Night Lights’ is a message about the joy of little things: the awkward thrills of a first kiss; the strange blessing of an unexpected rainstorm on a lonely walk home from a rough football practice; the startling surge of nostalgia incited by the illumination of football-stadium lights just as the autumn sun is setting; the rush of gratitude, in an otherwise mundane moment, that comes from realizing that this (admittedly flawed) human being that you’re squabbling with intends to have your back for the rest of your life. If ‘Glee’ is about expressing yourself, believing in yourself and loving yourself all the way to a moment of pure adrenaline-fueled glory, then ‘Friday Night Lights’ is about breathing in and appreciating the small, somewhat-imperfect moments that make up an average life.”

An average life. The kind of life most of us will have. The kind of life that can be a thing of beauty and worthy of praise.

I mean, look, good for Steve Jobs. I mean that. But I’d rather be Coach Taylor. Very d*** few of us have the talent to become Steve Jobs, and even fewer of us will have the opportunity as well. But we can all be Coach Taylor.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. JRutt permalink
    October 14, 2011 10:24 am

    I’ve been thinking a lot about Steve Jobs, as I’m sure most of us have in some form or fashion. I’ve read the articles in TIME and on the web, I’ve revisited the youtube editions of “Stevenotes”, I’ve even stared at my iphone and wondered if it will be the same now. More importantly though is the question that came to my mind, “what was so great about Steve Jobs?” I mean, did he help people in need…like, actually help people? Did he give of himself to others that represented a greater good other than inspiring invention? Basically, why should I really care that Steve Jobs is dead? Did his life point me to the Kingdom at all? I’d say the answer is NO to all the above, at least for me. I don’t even know any of the good personal qualities that I would respect about Jobs. He created one of the most profitable corporations in the history of the world and how did he bless others with that success? Did he at all?

    I think being Coach Taylor is a heck of a lot harder than being Steve Jobs.

Leave a Reply

